Call Center920033555

 International Surveys PIRLS

 International Surveys PIRLS

​​​​​​​​​​​​

What is PIRLS?

PIRLS stands for the Progress in International Reading Literacy Study. It is an international study that aims to asses reading literacy around the world.

The study, which was first conducted in 2001, is carried out every 5 years (The last time it was conducted was in 2016 with about 50 participating countries).



Main Objectives:

  • Collecting comprehensive data about 4th grade students’ reading, comprehension, and analytical skills
  • Identifying the elements that promote the acquisition of knowledge, such as: curricula, educational practices, the role of the family, etc.
  • Comparing students’ reading literacy skills in educational systems with different cultural, economic, and social backgrounds
  • Identifying the best practices to improve education by comparing the results of international tests with the results in countries with advanced educational systems and policies, which promotes higher levels of achievement among students


Supervising Entity:

On an international scale, the tests are supervised by the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA). In Saudi Arabia however, they are supervised by the National Center for Assessment (NCA), an ETEC affiliate.

Subjects:

Reading

Target Segments:

Fourth grade 

Languages:

Arabic and English


Instruments:

Participating countries collaborate to develop the overall framework and content of the tests under the supervision of IEA. Each country is responsible for translating and adapting test content and instruments to its locale, as well as administering the tests to a representative sample of schools. These instruments are:

1. Question booklets (reading and writing skills)

2. Surveys:

  • School surveys (to be completed by school leaders or their representatives)
  • Reading teachers​
  • Students
  • Parents or legal guardians

PIRLS in Saudi Arabia:

Saudi Arabia participated in the 2011 and 2016 cycles of PIRLS. Field tests for the next cycle will commence during the first quarter of 2020.


Preparing for the test:

Target schools participating in the study should prepare their students in reading and writing skills and train them on the mechanics of the test using classroom activities. Schools can also access the questions released by the supervising entity via: https://nces.ed.gov/surveys/pirls/released.asp​ 


Translated versions of released questions can be accessed by searching the web for “أسئلة تدريبية أو نماذج الاختبارات الدولية PIRLS”. NCA has also created administrative and training guides that will be sent to sampled schools to help them prepare and train their students.




Registration:

Students are not required to pre-register for the test. Target schools are nominated by the supervising entity with no interference from participating countries. The Center coordinates between the Ministry of Education and nominated schools to ensure their suitability for the study and their readiness for the agreed upon implementation schedule.



Saudi Arabia takes part in PIRLS because it helps to assess the achievement of elementary stage students in reading and writing. It also examines the similarities and differences between Saudi Arabia’s educational system and the educational systems of other participating countries to enhance teaching and learning in the Kingdom. Further, the results of such tests fulfill one of the goals of Saudi Vision 2030.

Participating countries are responsible for administering international tests, but the supervising entity is responsible for scoring and analyzing results. At the end of each cycle, several reports are issued concerning achievement levels in reading and writing. Some of these reports are published, while others are sent to individual countries to help them improve their teaching and learning processes in line with international benchmarking. It is worth noting that the principle aim of these tests is to assess the educational systems of participating countries rather than evaluating participating students or schools.

How many times is the PIRLS held?

The test is held every 5 years in participating countries.

How do I register for the test?

No pre-registration is required for students or school. Target schools are nominated by the supervising entity with no interference from participating countries. The Center coordinates between the Ministry of Education and nominated schools to ensure their suitability for the study and their readiness for the agreed upon implementation schedule.

Is there a pass/fail mark?

The test is not a pass/fail exam. Scores reflect the level of achievement in reading and writing skills in Saudi Arabia in comparison to other participating countries.

Do I need to pay any fees?

The test does not require payment of any fees. Each participating country is responsible for any related costs.

How can I access test results?

Results for previous and future tests for participating countries are available via: https://timssandpirls.bc.edu

Do target schools need to prepare for the test?

To obtain authentic and representative results, participating schools should prepare their students in reading and writing skills and train them on the mechanics of the test using classroom activities. Schools can also make use of the questions released by the supervising entity via: https://nces.ed.gov/surveys/pirls/released.asp

 

Translated versions of the questions can be accessed by searching the internet for “أسئلة تدريبية أو نماذج الاختبارات الدولية PIRLS”. NCA has also created administrative and training guides that will be sent to sampled schools to help them prepare and train their students.

share on

الرقم الموحد920033555

 الاختبارات الدولية PIRLS

 الاختبارات الدولية PIRLS

​​ما هو الـ PIRLS ؟

PIRLS اختصار لـ Progress In International Reading Literacy Study، وتعني الدراسة الدولية لقياس تقدم مهارات القراءة في العالم.

نفذت الدراسة لأول مرة عام 2001م، وتعقد بشكل دوري كل 5 سنوات (آخر تطبيق لها كان في عام 2016م بمشاركة نحو 50 دولة).

الأهداف الرئيسة:
  • الحصول على بيانات شاملة عن قدرات الطلبة في القراءة والفهم والتحليل في الصف الرابع الابتدائي.
  • تحديد العوامل المؤثرة في اكتساب المعرفة، مثل: المناهج والممارسات التعليمية ودور الأسرة وغيرها.
  • مقارنة تحصيل الطلبة في القراءة في أنظمة تربوية متباينة في خلفياتها الثقافية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية.
  • الوصول إلى أهم وأفضل الوسائل المؤدية إلى تعليم أفضل، وذلك عبر مقارنة نتائج الاختبارات لدولة ما مع نتائج دول أخرى متقدمة في السياسات والنظم التعليمية المطبقة والتي تؤدي إلى معدلات تحصيل عالية لدى الطلبة. 
 
الجهة المشرفة على الاختبارات:
يشرف على الاختبارات دولياً الهيئة الدولية لتقويم التحصيل التربوي
 International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA)
ويشرف عليها محلياً في المملكة العربية السعودية هيئة تقويم التعليم والتدريب – المركز الوطني للقياس.

المواد التي يطبق عليها الدراسة:
القراءة.

الفئة المستهدفة:​
الصف الرابع الابتدائي.

اللغة المستخدمة:
العربية والإنجليزية.

أدوات الدراسة:
تساهم الدول المشاركة في إعداد الإطار العام للاختبارات وصياغة محتواه تحت إشراف وإدارة الهيئة الدولية لتقويم التحصيل التربوي. كما تتولى كل دولة مشاركة مسؤولية ترجمة ومواءمة محتوى الأدوات، وتنفيذ الاختبارات على مدارس العينة المرشحة والممثلة للدولة. ويمكن حصر أدوات الدراسة فيما يلي:

1. كتيبات الأسئلة (مهارات القراءة والكتابة).
2. الاستبانات:
  • المدرسة (يتولى الإجابة عنها قائد المدرسة أو من ينوب عنه).
  • معلم القراءة.
  • الطالب.
  • ولي أمر الطالب.

انعقاد الدراسة في السعودية:
عقدت الدراسة لأول مرة في السعودية عام 2011م، كما شاركت في الدورة التي تلتها عام 2016م.
وسيكون التطبيق التجريبي للاختبارات –بإذن الله- في الربع الأول من عام 2020م.

تتولى المدارس المشاركة والمستهدفة في الدراسة تهيئة طلابها في مادة القراءة وتدريبهم على فنيات الاختبار من خلال العديد من الأنشطة داخل الصف. ويمكن الاستفادة من الأسئلة المنشورة من قبل الجهة المشرفة على الاختبارات من خلال الرابط التالي:

كما يمكن البحث في الشبكة العالمية (الإنترنت) عن "اسئلة تدريبية أو نماذج الاختبارات الدولية PIRLS" للحصول على ترجمة لتلك الأسئلة المنشورة. كما أن المركز أعد أدلة تنظيمية وتدريبية سترسل إلى مدارس العينة للاستفادة منها في تهيئة الطلبة.


لا تتطلب الاختبارات التسجيل المسبق من قبل الطلبة، وإنما تُرشح المدارس المستهدفة من قبل الهيئة المشرفة على الاختبارات دون تدخل الدول المشاركة. ويتولى المركز عملية التنسيق مع وزارة التعليم والمدارس المرشحة للتأكد من مناسبتها للدراسة ومدى استعدادها لفترة التطبيق المتفق عليها. 

تشارك المملكة في الاختبارات الدولية PIRLS لما تحققه من أهداف سامية في قياس تقدم طلبة المرحلة الابتدائية في مهارات القراءة والكتابة، ودراسة أوجه الاختلاف والتباين بين نظام التعليم في المملكة والنظم التعليمية المختلفة للدول الأخرى المشاركة؛ من أجل تحسين عملية التعليم والتعلّم في المملكة. كما أن نتائج مثل هذه الاختبارات تعد إحدى مؤشرات رؤية المملكة 2030.

تتولى الدول المشاركة تنفيذ وتطبيق الاختبارات الدولية، بينما يتم تصحيحها وتحليل نتائجها من قبل الهيئة المشرفة عليها. ثم تُصْدر -في نهاية كل دورة منها- تقارير متفرقة حول مستوى مهارات القراءة والكتابة، بعضها يُنشر، والبعض الآخر يُرسل لكل دولة بهدف تحسين عملية التعليم والتعلّم لديها من خلال المؤشرات النسبية التي تحويها تلك التقارير. مع التنويه إلى أن الاختبارات لا تهدف بالدرجة الأولى إلى تقويم الطلبة أو المدارس المشاركة بعينها، وإنما تهدف إلى تقويم الأنظمة التعليمية والتربوية في الدول المشاركة.

كم مرة يعقد اختبار الـ PIRLS؟

يعقد مرة واحدة كل خمس سنوات للدول المشاركة.

كيف أستطيع التسجيل في الاختبار؟

لا تتطلب الاختبارات التسجيل المسبق من قبل الطلبة أو المدارس، وإنما تُرشّح المدارس المستهدفة من قبل الهيئة المشرفة على الاختبارات دون تدخل الدول المشاركة، ويتولى المركز عملية التنسيق مع وزارة التعليم والمدارس المرشحة للتأكد من مناسبتها للدراسة وكذلك مدى استعدادها لفترة التطبيق المتفق عليها.

هل هناك نجاح أو رسوب في الاختبار؟

لا يوجد نجاح أو رسوب في الاختبار، والدرجات التي يحصل عليها الطلبة في الاختبارات تعكس مستوى التعليم لمهارات القراءة والكتابة في المملكة، مقارنة بالدول الأخرى المشاركة.

هل هناك مقابل مالي للاختبار؟

يمكن معرفة نتائج الاختبار السابقة والقادمة لجميع الدول المشاركة من خلال زيارة الموقع الإلكتروني للاختبار: https://timssandpirls.bc.edu

هل يلزم المدارس المستهدفة الاستعداد للاختبار؟

من أجل أن تعكس نتائج الدراسة الواقع الحقيقي للمملكة، ينبغي على المدارس المستهدفة للمشاركة في الدراسة تهيئة طلابها في مهارات القراءة والكتابة وتدريبهم على فنيات الاختبار من خلال العديد من الأنشطة داخل الصف. ويمكن الاستفادة من الأسئلة المنشورة من قبل الجهة المشرفة على الاختبارات على الرابط التالي: https://nces.ed.gov/timss/educators.asp كما يمكن البحث في الشبكة العالمية (الإنترنت) حول "اسئلة تدريبية أو نماذج الاختبارات الدولية PIRLS" للحصول على ترجمة لتلك الأسئلة المنشورة. كما أعد المركز الوطني للقياس أدلة تنظيمية وتدريبية، سترسل بإذن الله إلى المدارس المختارة (العينة) للاستفادة منها في تهيئة الشريحة المستهدفة من الطلاب.

شارك على